Thursday, December 26, 2013

Kindle Sample (My Thoughts): Dash & Lilys Book of Dares

Hey there, I am glad you have stopped by, I hope you had a great xmas, I got totally spoilt and have eaten a ton of chocolates. If you are new here you will find that I like to talk about the Kindle samples I have read as well as do the usual book reviews and In My Mailbox posts.
 
The other day I downloaded a load of samples from Amazon and decided to read this sample because I have seen it around on a lot of blogs etc so check out what I thought and if I will bother with it...
 

~Synopsis~

I've left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don't, put the book back on the shelf, please.


Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favourite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions? Rachel Cohn and David Levithan have written a love story that will have readers perusing bookstore shelves, looking and longing for a love (and a red notebook) of their own.

 
~My Thoughts~

The sample starts off with 16 year old Dash on The Stand in New York being grumpy about Christmas and generally moaning about everything, which was not a good introduction for me I thought it was quite depressing. I also assumed Dash was much older by his vocabulary and way of thinking that was being used in the book, I do not think his character portrays a 16 year olds thought process very well.

I felt that certain things were over explained for example when Dash sees the book poking out of the shelves he goes on about his friends note books and I lost track of what was going on and had to go back and reread that section.

I won't spoil things by going into detail so I will just say that Dash finds this notebook written by Lillie which has clues and dares in it he starts to follow what Lillie has written in the book but he also switched up things a bit and from what I understand they go on to build up a romance with each other.

The first chapter was from Dash's point of view then the following chapter is from Lillie's point of view and she is the opposite to Dash more cheerful. The sample does not have the whole of Lillie's chapter so I did not get enough of an idea about her character, I think they should of allowed a chapter of Lillie's so you can gauge what her side of the story will be like, because I was not enjoying things from Dash's perspective Lillie's could of lifted my view a bit had I got to sample the whole of her chapter.

I was not overly keen on the writing style but the story line is catchy it can either go one of two ways, it could go the silly route or the fun route where you continually want to find out what is going to happen next.

I don't think I will be rushing to read this book but I am not going to rule out reading it at some point in the future. If you have read this book let me know your thoughts in the comments below...
You can download the sample or the whole book here

Read more...

Sunday, November 17, 2013

In my Mailbox

I found this post sitting as a draft that I forgot to post from a couple of weeks back, oh well better late than never...

 
Finding It:
 
Kelsey Summers is looking for love in all the wrong places.

Spending a few months travelling around Europe - with no parents, no responsibilities and a no limit credit card - Kelsey's having the time of her life.

But when she completely embarrasses herself in front of the hottest guy she's ever seen, she soon realises there's more to life than the next party.

What she doesn't realise is that although she's on a journey to find herself, she will end up finding The One...


Secret Shared:

Hidden desires are set free in SECRET Shared - the intoxicating, intensely sexy second novel in the internationally bestselling S.E.C.R.E.T series.

Cassie Robichaud has come a long way from the invisible, insecure woman she was a year ago. As she takes her place as a guide for S·E·C·R·E·T - an underground society dedicated to helping women realize their wildest, most intimate sexual fantasies - Cassie tries to put the bittersweet memories of the man who was almost hers behind her.

But while helping a new member, Dauphine, to live out the passionate adventures she's kept buried for so long, Cassie's connection with one of the male recruits may unravel the one thing she's afraid to leave exposed: her heart. Can a passion formed in fantasy ever become love in Cassie's reality?


The great train robbery and most infamous British crimes:
 
Detailed narratives recount heinous crimes of recent years, copiously illustrated with rare photographs and news stories reprinted from the Daily Mail.
 


Read more...

Friday, November 15, 2013

Book Review: Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight


Format: Paperback

Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (20 Jun 2013)

Buy the book: Amazon

Source: Review copy

Genre: Non-Fiction

Language: English

Rating: 4/5

~Synopsis~

Single mother and lawyer Kate Baron is in the meeting of her career when she is interrupted by a telephone call. Her daughter Amelia has just been suspended from her exclusive prep school. When Kate eventually arrives at Grace Hall an hour later, she is greeted by the news that no mother ever wants to hear.

A grieving Kate can't accept that her daughter would kill herself. But she soon discovers she didn't know Amelia quite as well as she thought. Who are the friends she kept, what are the secrets she hid? And so begins an investigation which takes her deep into Amelia's private world - and into the mind of a troubled young girl.

Then Kate receives an anonymous text: AMELIA DIDN'T JUMP. Is someone toying with her or has she been right all along? To find the truth about her daughter, Kate must now face a darker reality than she could ever have imagined.

~My Thoughts~

I really enjoyed this book it was upsetting at times and I got frustrated at Kate quite a lot. Kate as a mother seemed to be oblivious a lot of the time, where with my own child I would of looked more into things and asked more questions.

I loved the story line, it kept me reading, I was dying to know who it was, I had my suspicions but I will not say if my they were confirmed or unconfirmed.

I think writing from a teenagers point of view is risky for an adult to do because you could come across as being out of touch with how teenagers these days really are but I thought that Kimberly captured everything very well although I am not a teenager but I felt that her writing came across in the right way.

Even though Kate had a high powered job I feel she could of incorporated more work and family life balance especially as a single mother, you have to make sacrifices for your children, it can be done.

The school clubs were quite interesting a bit silly at times, kids will get themselves into these groups and feel pressured to have to do things they do not necessarily want to do so they can fit in and I think where Amelia was lonely the club became a replacement family for her so in order to keep them around she had to go along with what she was asked to do.

They were quite a few twists in the story that kept things interesting, I think it was good read and would definitely recommend it.


Read more...

Saturday, September 28, 2013

In My Mailbox

 
This is my book for the week that I received in the post, I have not heard of this title before but it looks promising...
 
The Lost Boys by Lillian Carmine is due out on the 24th October you can pre-order your copy on Amazon.
 
Having moved to a strange town, seventeen-year-old Joey Gray is feeling a little lost, until she meets a cute, mysterious  boy near her new home.
 
But there's a very good reason why Tristan Halloway is always to be found roaming in the local graveyard...
 
Let me know if you have received or read this book in the comments below...have a great weekend!

Read more...

Friday, September 27, 2013

Still here...

Hiya! I have just popped in to say that i am still here!

I have been very busy over the summer so i have not had much chance to post my reviews, but i have still been reading and will be updating this blog within the next few weekends.

I will also update on the books i have been sent for review so thank you to publishers that have been sending me books and thank you to readers who have been stopping by.

FULL UPDATE COMING VERY SOON!

Read more...

Wednesday, April 03, 2013

Kindle Sample: Gangsta Granny by David Walliams

 

~Synopsis~

Our hero Ben is bored beyond belief after he is made to stay at his grandma’s house. She’s the boringest grandma ever: all she wants to do is to play Scrabble, and eat cabbage soup. But there are two things Ben doesn’t know about his grandma.




1) She was once an international jewel thief.



2) All her life, she has been plotting to steal the Crown Jewels, and now she needs Ben’s help…



~My Thoughts~
 
I first heard of this book when David Walliams was on Alan Carr's Chatty Man show and he was talking about this book and i thought although it is a kids book it does sound really funny. Once the book was released i downloaded the sample and i got stuck into it straight away.
 
The book is from Ben's perspective but written in third person which works well, the humour in the book is present throughout and i was chuckling away. What made me laugh is the diagram of Ben's nan where there was a arrow pointing to a tissue tucked up her sleeve, my nan always had a tisse tucked up her sleeve and used to encourage me to tuck one up there as well LOL!
 
I enjoy the sample and have since brought the full version of the book as it will most definitely be a fun read.
 
Download the sample: Amazon


Read more...

Monday, April 01, 2013

Book Review: A Proof of Heaven by Dr Eben Alexander


Format: Kindle Edition

Publisher: Hachette Digital (23 Oct 2012)

Buy the book: Amazon

Source: Purchased

Genre: Non-Fiction

Language: English

Rating: 5/5


Synopsis

A SCIENTIST’S CASE FOR THE AFTERLIFE Thousands of people have had near-death experiences, but scientists have argued that they are impossible. Dr. Eben Alexander was one of those scientists. A highly trained neurosurgeon, Alexander knew that NDEs feel real, but are simply fantasies produced by brains under extreme stress.


Then, Dr. Alexander’s own brain was attacked by a rare illness. The part of the brain that controls thought and emotion—and in essence makes us human—shut down completely. For seven days he lay in a coma. Then, as his doctors considered stopping treatment, Alexander’s eyes popped open. He had come back.

Alexander’s recovery is a medical miracle. But the real miracle of his story lies elsewhere. While his body lay in coma, Alexander journeyed beyond this world and encountered an angelic being who guided him into the deepest realms of super-physical existence. There he met, and spoke with, the Divine source of the universe itself.

Alexander’s story is not a fantasy. Before he underwent his journey, he could not reconcile his knowledge of neuroscience with any belief in heaven, God, or the soul. Today Alexander is a doctor who believes that true health can be achieved only when we realize that God and the soul are real and that death is not the end of personal existence but only a transition.

This story would be remarkable no matter who it happened to. That it happened to Dr. Alexander makes it revolutionary. No scientist or person of faith will be able to ignore it. Reading it will change your life.

My Thoughts

Firstly this is a highly debatable subject and unless experienced we all do not know 100% what to expect when we pass away so i respect that everyone has their own views and religious beliefs, my review is solely based on my own experiences and beliefs and i am fully aware that my beliefs will not suit what you may believe, i am not saying what i believe is right and what you believe is wrong i am merely talking about my own personal views. Please do not get offended and debate with me on this subject as i will not respond because i have no need to when i feel strongly in myself and what i believe. However i am happy to hear your thoughts about the book if you have read it.

When i saw this book on Amazon i felt i NEEDED to read it, the reason why is because i am a Spiritualist and believe in the afterlife due to various experiences i have encountered.

Before i had Spiritualist views i was a Buddhist and i took Buddhism very seriously i was a vegetarian i went and meditated with Buddhist monks i taught myself all there was to know about Buddhism i fully believed in reincarnation because that is what made senses to me until i had an over powering experience that changed my views completely and when i discussed them with a Buddhist monk he told me that what i experienced was not possible but my feelings about my experience were stronger than my Buddhist believes so i could not go on any longer as a Buddhist. Although that being said the only part i disagree with about Buddhism is the fact that they do not believe in an afterlife, the principles of Buddhism and living the Buddhist way is a great way to live and i think we could all incorporate some Buddhism into our lives especially with the mindful thinking, some elements of Buddhism are the same elements of Spiritualism.

Anyway after a lot of soul searching and experiences etc i found that my beliefs coincided with Spiritualist beliefs so i started going to a Spiritualist church  for a while. So since that time my belief has never wavered that there is an afterlife.

At the beginning of the book Dr Alexander introduces himself and gives insight into his work as a successful  Neurosurgeon he is a man of science and has been all his life, his father was and his son was following in his footsteps. Now this is what made me want to read this book because Scientist's have disagreed that there is a afterlife existence and for a man of such statcher and a non-believer to have this experience and write a book about it has to be worth everyones attention even if you yourself a non-believer and just want to hear what he has to say.

Then the book goes on to describe what happened to him that lead him into his coma, it was upsetting to read, if that was my husband i would be distraught witnessing it all, it would be especially hard to cope with when you have kids and you have to put on a brave face for them whilst dealing with your own emotions.

Dr Alexander tells his experience of what state his body was in while he was in a coma to show that it was not possible for his experience of happened to him to just be a dream or an illusion, he describes in as much detail as he can what he saw and how he felt. I am not going to recount his experience in my review because i want people to actually read the book and find out for themselves and make their own judgement.

The story alternated between what was going on around him while he was in the coma and Dr Alexander's experience in his coma, alongside he also spoke about being adopted and trying to contact his family and what he went through with that.

Dr Alexander uses a lot of scientific talk during the book that i struggled my way through and i think most people would find it hard but i understand that he had to in order to get his message through it made his accounts of things stronger and harder to ignore.

I found this book to be a very important read and suggest everyone should read it especially if you are a non-believer.

Dr Eben Alexanders website: http://www.lifebeyonddeath.net/ he has a useful reading list on the site for anyone who wants further reading material.




Read more...

Saturday, March 30, 2013

Book Review: A Deeper Love Inside by Sister Souljah



Format: Kindle Edition

Publisher: Atria/Emily Bestler Books (29 Jan 2013)

Buy the book: Amazon

Source: Purchased

Genre: YA

Language: English

Rating: 4.5/5


Synopsis

THE SEQUEL MILLIONS OF READERS HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR . . .

At last, mega-bestselling author Sister Souljah delivers the stunning sequel to The Coldest Winter Ever. Fierce, raw, and filled with adventure and emotional intensity, A Deeper Love Inside is an unforgettable coming-of-age story in the words of Porsche Santiaga, Winter’s younger sister.

Sharp-tongued, quick-witted Porsche worships her sister Winter. Cut from the same cloth as her father, Ricky Santiaga, Porsche is also a natural-born hustler. Passionate and loyal to the extreme, she refuses to accept her new life in group homes, foster care, and juvenile detention after her family is torn apart. Porsche—unique, young, and beautiful—cries as much as she fights and uses whatever she has to reclaim her status. Unselfish, she pushes to get back everything that ever belonged to her wealthy, loving family.

In A Deeper Love Inside, readers will encounter their favorite characters from The Coldest Winter Ever, including Winter and Midnight. Sister Souljah’s soulful writing will again move your heart and open your eyes to a shocking reality.

My Thoughts

This is the story of Porsche, Winter's middle sister. About half the story is based in prison and the other half out of prison. Yet again Sister Souljah has produced a well written story each character is developed well, the story is written in first person so you feel as though you are going through everything Porsche is going through.

Porsche is only 10 at the start of the story her whole world has fallen apart, her father is in prison and she does not know what has happened to her mother and sisters. The book is over 400 pages long covering Porsches life from when she was 10 to 16 there is so much going on that if i were to delve to much into the story line it would spolit it for those that have not read it yet.

Porsche is feisty like her sister winter, but she has a lot more mental issues going on, the one thing that I did not really get was her imaginary friend Siri I don't think she was portrayed very well It was only after Porsches escape that it dawned on me that Siri was not actually a real person. Apart from that I loved the story there was plenty going on, there were funny parts, sad parts.

I loved it when Midnight made an appearance that was my fave part of the book, it brought together the storylines from the previous books, I like Midnights character so i was happy to hear more about him, i felt like i had a crush on him myself. I am really curious as to what is coming next from sister souljah her books are not to be ignored she is a very talented writer and can tell a story in such a way that you feel like you are living the whole experience yourself. My brother also loves her books he read this particular book in about 3 days and this is nearly a 500 page book!

Sister Souljah is well known in America as an activist check out her website http://sistersouljah.com/


Read more...

Thursday, March 14, 2013

Book Review: Raven (A Delirium Short Story)


 
 
Format: Kindle Edition

Publisher: Hodder (5 Mar 2012)

Buy the book: Amazon

Source: Purchased

Genre: Dystopian

Language: English

Rating: 4/5

 
As a teenager, Raven made the split-second decision to flee across the border to the Wilds, compelled to save an abandoned newborn - a baby girl left for dead and already blue from the cold. When she and the baby are taken in by a band of rebels, Raven finds herself an outsider within a tight-knit group. The only other newcomer is an untrustworthy boy known as the Thief until he finally earns himself a new name: Tack. Now she and Tack are inseparable, committed to each other, the fledgling rebellion, and a future together. But as they both take center stage in the fight, Raven must decide whether the dangers of the revolution are worth risking her dreams of a peaceful life with Tack.

As her story hurtles back and forth between past and present, Raven transforms from a scared girl newly arrived in the Wilds to the tough leader who helps Lena save former Deliria-Free poster boy Julian Fineman from a death sentence. Whatever the original mission may have been, Raven abides by a conviction that she believes to her core: You always return for the people you love. By turns surprising, revelatory, and poignant, Raven's story enriches the Delirium world and resonates with a voice that is as vulnerable as it is strong.

My Thoughts

This is a short story giving insight into Raven the leader of the group Lena stays with in the wilds. During pandemonium Raven is pretty guarded so you do not get to know to much about her. This short story is basically to give you more insight into her character and you get to find out about her relationship with Tack. There is also a little something, something going on that will come to light in requiem I won't spoil it for those that have not read Raven.

This is a very quick read ideal as a gap filler just before requiem.

Read more...

Monday, February 18, 2013

GIVEAWAY: 3 Signed Copies of How To Fall by Jane Casey

Win a signed copy of How To Fall by Jane Casey

3 Copies to Giveaway!





When fifteen-year-old Freya drowns, everyone assumes she's killed herself, but no-one knows why. Her cousin, Jess Tennant, thinks she was murdered - and is determined to uncover the truth. On a summer visit to sleepy Port Sentinel, Jess (who bears a striking resemblance to her dead cousin) starts asking questions - questions that provoke strong reactions from her friends and family, not to mention Freya's enemies.


Everyone is hiding something - and Freya herself had more than her fair share of secrets. Can Jess unravel the mystery of her cousin's death? A mystery involving a silver locket, seething jealousy and a cliff-top in the pitch black of night?

This is Giveaway is now closed.




Read more...

  © Blogger templates The Professional Template by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP